Friday, 31 October 2008

DBMM For The Befuddled – Part 8

When I wrote part 6 and 6a of this series I noted that there were a few things that need clarifying.  I tried using the “good offices” of the Yahoo! DMM list and the DBMM forum but didn’t get a clear answer.  I want to use this post in another attempt to get this sorted.

The main issue involves forming a column from a line when the head of the column isn’t on either end of the line like so:



On page 27 of the DBMM rulebook under “Difficult Evolutions” it says that “[+1 extra PIP] For each of .. [when] Both a group’s front corners move less than the maximum distance unless …”.  In this example only the central element has moved full and none of the exceptions apply.

So its seems clear that this moves costs two PIPs.  Yet when I raised in various forums to check some players agreed whilst others argued against paying the extra PIP on the grounds that the central element had made move a full move.

Either some of us have got it wrong, the wording within the rules is wrong or both.  Hence the need for a clarification.  The need is all the greater because this is a basic move within the game.  Here’s hoping.

Update: Wed, 21 Jan 2009

Well after two and a half months a clarification of sort has emerged.  I posted this on the DBMMlist as part of a discussion of items that needed clarifying.  Chris Handley, who was heavily involved in play testing the rules with Phil Barker, replied (see http://tinyurl.com/9la9pe)
“as neither of the groups front corners have moved their maximum distance [its covered by the rules]”
So this moves costs 2 PIPs for regular troops and 3 for irregulars.

I think this is going to have a big impact as, judging by the comments, there are a lot of people who don’t pay the extra PIP.

Update: Thu, 29 Jan 2009

As predicted things have been lively.  Apart from the usual rubbish from the usual suspects, the following “mea culpa” appeared on the DBMM Forum yesterday from Chris Handley:
“I must retract my earlier statement about the number of PIP’s required to move into a column.

It has nothing to do with the distance [moved by] the corners but simply the action of forming column and is the same as moving from a column [to line]. 

For regulars this is 1 PIP and for irregulars 2.  Phil [Barker]reckons these are the most common manoeuvres carried out by any body of armed men and this should be reflected in the PIP’s. 
Please accept my apologies for any confusion my earlier erroneous statement may have caused.”
So it looks like the section on front corners was never meant to apply to column formation after all.  This would appear to finally resolve matters.  The only thing outstanding being changes to the rules on page 27 to clarify this.

Finally, well done Chris for posting such a clear correction.

2 comments :

  1. Hi Martin - becomes even less clear as in the final group (the column) both front corners of element B have moved there full distance :-)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This was intentional. It highlights the need for a clarification. You raise a good point: it's also not clear if the initial corners of the final group should be considered. Messy.

    ReplyDelete

Comments are always welcome but this blog no longer accept anonymous comments.