The Waving Flag: ADLG: A Personal FAQ?

Sunday 29 October 2023

ADLG: A Personal FAQ?

Hervé Caille, the author of Art de la Guerre (ADLG), & his support team run a list of official clarifications for V4.  The latest version is dated August 2022.  The lack of a more recent version reflects well on the stability of the new version (V4).

Even so, every once in a while something crops up during play, or on the ADLG Forum, that isn't covered and should probably be in the next official version.  Here are five common situations that have been clarified recently but aren't in the official version (yet?).  For ADLG nerds only.

Disengaging and Exiting a ZoC 1
The first question deals with a basic omission from the rules.  The answer is simple but isn't given as genral rule and should be included in the "General priciples" on page 41.  The second tackles an issue brought about by the ambiguous, and confusing, layout of page 37.

[Q1] During these moves the rules say stop when meeting a new enemy.  The question is: do they stop in contact or if not how far away do the stop?

[A1] Contact is not allowed and for all the cases that specify "just before contact", the unit must stop a few millimetres before the contact.

[Q2] When does the special case (page 37), for mounted with a ZoC to their rear, apply)?

[A2] This only applies to mounted that cannot evade. Mounted that can evade must use the evade procedure to leave a ZoC.

Charging in Groups #1 2
This arose during a game against a very experienced player.  We played it his way which turned out to be the wrong way.

[Q3] When conforming after contact during a charge, does the whole group conform or do units not in contact remain where they are splitting the group?

[A3] Other units in the group may conform (up to 1 UD) to remain aligned as a group.  This is covered by the final bullet point in the definitions section on page 50.

Charging in Groups #2 3
The following situations only arise when the units are closer than the minimum charge move for the charging unit (1 UD for foot and 2 UD for mounted).  The difference between the two is subtle, at least in my view, but I can foresee important consequences arising from the difference during a game.

[Q4] When charging an enemy where none has evaded, must units not in contact move the minimum required for charge movement?

[A4] No.

[Q5] When charging an enemy where not all have evaded, must units not in contact move the minimum required for charge movement?

[A5] Yes and the group may split.

After the first contact in both Q4 & 5, units not in contact must consider continuing their charge.  Whether this is mandatory or optional depends on whether the units are impetuous or not.  In both these cases movement distances are not adjusted:

  • The units may choose to advance up to their maximum movement allowance (see page 43, section 8, 1st bullet point).
  • Impetuous units must do this but only if they are in pursuit (as in Q5) or will contact another enemy (see page 43, section 8, 2nd bullet point).
  • If they continue their charge, their total movement (initial & optional) must be at least their minimum charge movement (this applies only to Q4 as in Q5 this has already happened).

Here are some animations that may help with Q4 & 5.  Click for larger, full colour versions.  The units start 1 UD apart and, in the first two, are not impetuous.  Firstly, the answer to Q4:

Next the answer to Q5:

Both the above diagrams feature units that are not impetuous.  If they are the answer to Q4 is the same (not in pursuit and no other target in the example) but, Q5 is different.  So here's another diagram for impetuous units:

Closing remarks
This post has taken me an afternoon to write.  Setting things out in a clear and logical manner involved many attempts.  Don't be fooled by how clear everything now is (I hope).

The final answers may appear obvious, even trivial.  However, some engendered a lot of online discussion (never a good thing) and required Hervé to provide "chapter & verse".  In my view this makes them well worth recording for future reference.

Notes & References

No comments :

Salute The Flag

If you'd like to support this blog why not leave a comment, or buy me a beer!

Salute The Flag